Assault & Battery Bonds
ASSAULT AND BATTERY BAIL BONDS IN TEXAS
If you or a loved one has been arrested for assault and battery in Texas, contact the professionals at Access Bonding. We have a proven track record of securing misdemeanor and felony bonds for assault arrests in Houston since 1979.
SIMPLE ASSAULT AND DEFINING BODILY INJURY
Texas assault laws differ from those of other states. Primarily, Texas does not recognize assault and battery as two separate crimes. In simple terms, assault refers to the threat of violence, while battery defines the actual act. Texas defines them both equally under the same law. As such, an assault charge can be made under even the threat of an unwelcomed touch.
Threatening or offensive contact is considered a Class C misdemeanor, and carries a $500 fine. Assault that causes bodily injury is a Class A misdemeanor, and punishable by up to one year in jail and a $4,000 fine. The term “bodily injury” can be deceptive however, as it is subjectively defined. Injuries are not always obvious, and the extent of harm is often determined by the amount of “pain” claimed by the allegedly injured party. Therefore, the leap to “bodily injury” can be imprecise, and define a misdemeanor assault from a felony aggravated assault charge.
THE SLIPPERY SLOPE FROM MISDEMEANOR TO FELONY
While most simple assault cases are prosecuted as misdemeanors, under certain circumstances, simple assault can be charged as a third-degree felony. A felony charge is appropriate if the alleged victim is:
- a public servant in the line of duty
- a security guard, first responder or emergency worker on duty
- a family member or spouse
Access Bonding understands the complexities of the Texas Penal Code regarding assault and battery. We also realize the importance of family support, and a defendant’s ability to freely assist in their defense. Our goal is to get you or your loved one released from jail as quickly and easily as possible.
Call Access Bonding and be out of jail on an assault bond quickly and discreetly!